A spectacular landscape garden and an English park were built in the last third of the 19th century around the mansion, in place of the park that had already existed earlier but was unknown in detail. The works were led by chief gardeners János Kálmán between 1875 and 1894, and by János Berger from 1894 to 1911. Perhaps the most picturesque part of the mansion park was the pond and its surroundings. On the hill next to the pond still stands the bastion-like water tower, which probably constituted part of the water system used to supply the park. A romantic island stood on the pond; the waterfall next to it, besides serving as an attraction, provided the pond with oxygen.
(Fortepan Budapest Capital Archives photographs of György Klösz)
In addition to the winding paths and sunny clearings of the park, groups of yew trees, various pines, poplars, beeches and lindens flourished. The park was also adorned with a peasant house and a farmhouse that served as a playhouse for the count’s children. A church was built in the northwest corner of the park, and a gate keeper’s house next to the main entrance gate. In winter, it was possible to go ice skating on the frozen pond, and family members and guests could go sledging on the slopes of the water tower hill. The park, now largely deprived of its built ornaments, was bordered on the north by a vegetable garden, on the south by a riding hall, stables and a coach house. The mansion and the park formed an inseparable unit with these, as well as with the outbuildings and the edifice housing the service rooms connected to the mansion by an underground corridor, but separated from it by dense rows of pine on the surface.